Open Heart Surgery

Open Heart Surgery

I was expecting to love life.

When I was a child,
I thought it would be fun
To be older and wiser.
I thought that I’d be able
To do all those things.
Things I couldn’t do
because I was too small.

It’s strange to see now,
How, from the point of view
Of being ever so much older
(let’s leave wiser aside for a while),
Small is something I miss terribly.
Smooth skin and endless energy – wheee, imagine that!

Small wants large.
Large wants small.
Will we ever learn
That we have it all?

There are a million different versions of me in this heart.
If only I could find the right cut.
To find the right place.
To find the right me.
For today.

12 thoughts on “Open Heart Surgery

Leave a Reply

