Editing – with Robots

cute-robot

Shall I tell you a neat trick I discovered recently?

I was struggling to spot mistakes (spelling errors, semantically challenged sentences, syntactical slip-ups) in my own writing. Because I had a deadline to meet, I didn’t have the time nor the energy to find someone to read my precious prose. So I did something truly innovative.

Here’s what I did …

I let a robot loose on my literature.

Hidden away in most major systems (I use Microsoft Word and MacOS amongst others) is a snazzy little creature called Text-to-Speech. You might need to alter some settings to prise it into the open, but once you have it – you can use it instantly for finding the errors in your writing – any time of the day, any day of the year – and it never tires!

Here’s how it works – just highlight the relevant text and then click the button to get this cute robot to read to you. Simple as that.

The big advantage of doing this is that the voice will pause naturally when it finds a comma, leave a slightly longer gap when it finds a full stop and stumble over words that are misspelt or even, *gasp*, incorrect.

You will hear these pauses and stumbles and know straight away when something is awry, and you will be able to correct any error instantly – even as your robotic friend works on the next sentence.

It’s amazing how many mistakes are hidden away in our once, twice and thrice edited text – all invisible to us because we wanted to see just what we wanted to see – perfection.

I hope this simple trick helps you with your editing process and brings as big a smile to your face as it did to mine.

Have a nice day! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Editing – with Robots

  1. Awesome advice! I wonder if the voice Stephen Hawking uses is still available…best ego boost there is, the illusion that Stephen Hawking is reading your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.