What He Did Next

He went through her site and Liked every single one of her posts simply because he liked all of them. Her creativity and enquiring nature fascinated him and he wanted to know that he liked her, even if she thought he was disgusting. He then watched as she deleted all his comments.

He thought of what had gone wrong and decided that there were some things they would never understand and that there were other things they would never admit. It didn’t matter. Communication had ceased, so they were both freed from any necessity to explain or understand.

He went inside himself and contacted the deep well of silence at the foundation of his being and using this he went up to the truth of all existence and through these connections he gave light and peace into her life and heart. She would feel it and be benefitted on some level.

Then he went out and bought a big bar of chocolate – his only addiction. As he walked back to the office he wondered about her addictions and hoped that they were no more destructive than his.

And then he wrote this.

39 thoughts on “What He Did Next

  1. Your opening grabbed me right away. I just had a conversation/argument with a man I’m dating who refuses to even look at my blog, let alone “… (go) through her site and Liked every single one of her posts simply because he liked all of them..”
    So I deleted him. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha – that sounds like the shape of it! 😀
      I can just imagine him there in your Trash/Recycle Bin, little arms waving – trying to get your attention with his tinny little voice! When are you going to empty you Trash. 🙂
      Kindness – Robert.

      Like

    • Oh the pain of unrequited love I know it so well. Such a poignant piece. I thought I was tragic and doomed because none of the men who I was interested in were interested in me until I realised it was the other way round I wasn’t interested in men who were interested in me I was only interested in men who were unavailable. I am trying to work on this now getting to know someone who is available.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Caroline – I applaud the depth of knowledge you have about yourself. I’m going to wonder now whether the same applies to me. I suspect it might. Then I’m going to have a nice cup of tea. 🙂
        Hope your day is bringing you wonders.
        Kindness – Robert.

        Like

    • I guess that it’s because there is a lot lurking beneath the depths on this one. I’ve only expressed the top of the iceberg. Reminds me of advice to write a massively comprehensive character map for people in your stories – not because you will tell all of it but because you will know all of it as you write. It provides the part of the iceberg underneath. Winds may blow on the surface – and they may be very strong words, but ultimately it’s the deeper ocean currents that will determine where the iceberg (character/story) goes.

      Liked by 1 person

    • True that. But I’ll heal. Thanks for your concern though, Jillian – I appreciate that. 🙂
      Yeah, I know – I can be dense. Took me ages to figure out how to reply to your comment (I’ve been thinking about it a lot, trying to work out your angle and sympathies) and then, when I started to write, my sense of humour just took over.
      However, I am aware of the seriousness of such situations and the various remedies available.
      Again – thank you.
      Kindness – Robert.

      Like

    • Hey, Clare – welcome to my blog – I’m glad you decided to drop in. 🙂
      I dropped a comment on your blog that talks about how to use feelings in your writing because you raised the question here. I hope it helps. 🙂
      Kindness – Robert.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Mystery Blogger Award | robertcday

Leave a Reply

