One Good Turn

I sometime want to stop people in the street and say something good about them.

I mean, people generally put some effort into theit appearance and demeanour. I just want to acknowledge that.

Likewise, when I see someone jogging, or riding a bike or just going along in a distinctive way, I want to stop them and say ‘well done!’

Of course, I never do. Its as if it’s taboo.

It’s only really here that I can be myself and say nice things to people.

Thanks for reading this. If you leave a comment of any sort, I’ll come and visit your blog.

You have a lovely blog. πŸ™‚

51 thoughts on “One Good Turn

  1. I do that though, since I know it will make their day. And I’m a complete stranger in a foreign land. So if you’re looking nice, I smile. If you smile back, I’ll pass my compliment. It makes my day too πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

    • The thing is, it’s different for guys. If a guy says something nice to another guy – it’s gay, and if he says something nice to a girl – it’s flirting. No way for a guy to win! 😦
      But hey – I’m glad you’re able to do it. Sounds to me like you don’t need no chat up lines. πŸ™‚ *puts hand over eyes and hopes she takes that the right way*

      Liked by 2 people

      • Lmao yess!! The playing ground just isn’t level with genders. One girl can call another girl pretty (or comment on her rack or behind) and there is nothing wrong with that. But for guys lol

        I am said to be outgoing, I am chatty I guess. But I have a thing against hitting on guys. Just not my thing. I’m old school, I like to be pursued ahahaha

        Liked by 2 people

      • Maybe if I wear a pink shirt, pay far too much attention to my hair and adopt a whispy, lispy voice I can get away with telling you that ‘Sistah – I feel where your heart is at!’ πŸ˜€
        Seriously though – one thing I really like about you is that you are open, honest and very understanding. You encourage me to be bold.
        Still, I would never suggest to you that you that, judging by what you say, should try a light and flirty relationship with a girl and forget about the boys for now, because that would be me crossing waaaay too many boundaries. And besides – your mom would flip!
        *puts on running shoes – just in case*

        Liked by 2 people

      • LOL unfortunately, I also believe men were made for women – I mean, if we’re both women in the house, who’ll move the furniture around (lol) just kidding, but you get what I mean right?
        And my Mother, yes, you’d have to ruuuun, HARD! πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

        Liked by 2 people

      • Maybe for women in general. But I think I’ve learned to just be more outgoing than I used to and say what’s on my mind. I used to think of myself as very introverted and shy, but I was really focused so much on what others thought of me that I was missing everything around me. I did see a therapist years ago and it was helpful.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes I’ll go another way if im ​jogging or in a store or something just to avoid a large group of people…it’s so weird.. but I secretly want to be nice if I had the nerve but I fear being judged which is why I avoid random interaction in the first place.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah, I do that all the time. Sometimes I walk miles out of my way so that I don’t have to walk down a street where a friendly person lives that always like to stop and have a quick and innocuous chat. Sometimes I’ll see someone ahead and then turn off so that I don’t have to risk catching their eye and say Good Morning. I read a book as I walk so that I can pretend I don’t see people (and then they walk straight towards me so that I have to look up (what’s that all about?!)). Sometimes I’m sure that I’m allergic to people. But I’m not. Sometimes I can stop and chat about nothing to a stranger. Sometimes I can meet someone and start a lifelong friendship. Sometimes I can appreciate the wonderful worlds that another person represents. Sometimes I can be a damned liar. And sometimes not. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I smile at people if they give eye contact. I think if you or the other person give eye contact then that is a subtle signal that you are available for a smile. If someone doesn’t give eye contact they are preoccupied with their thoughts. The same should work for you when you don’t want to be approached. But there are people in the world who haven’t figured the signals out yet. Are you very self conscious? Trust yourself and listen to your instincts. Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If people could just start by smile at each other or say ‘hello’ in passing…I had a neighbor once who refused (for what ever reason) to say hello back to me. After 4 months or so, he finally did! Since then, I just keep saying it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.