Speedier Brain

Here are some make my brain work better. Who knows – they may work for you too:

  • Thinking less. Yes, I know that this sounds suspiciously unintuitive, but before you laugh and click on another link, you should try it. The technique I use is called meditation, which involves focusing on one thing to the exclusion of all others. It doesn’t really matter what you focus on – your breath, the sound of your feet in the pavement, a candle, the smell of your perfume, the taste of chocolate melting in your tongue – pretty much anything. What happens is pretty much akin to running an antivirus scan on your computer and then rebooting it. You’ll find that it shuts down all the unhelpful stuff running through your brain leaving you faster and more efficient.
  • Eating a cheese sandwich. I don’t know about you but there’s nothing quite like a plain old cheese sarnie to ground me nicely. If I’ve been eating too much chocolate and my brain is whirring far too quickly without getting anywhere then bread and cheese slows down the hamster on the wheel in my head enough to make my brain more capable of smiling and doing what I really want it to do.
  • Sleeping enough, but not too much. I know that this is a really obvious one, but it’s something that works for me so it goes on the list. Have you ever felt tempted to sleep for another hour in the morning, or even snooze the afternoon away? I know that I have. But I always seem to regret it. Unless I have seriously underslept prior to that and am catching up, sleeping extra in the morning (or afternoon) makes me feel tired and dull. If this happens to you though, don’t worry – all is not lost. All you have to do is …
  • Drink a glass of water. This is an amazing restorative for me. Dehydration tends to slow me down terribly and when that glass of water goes down, it’s like all the little cells in my brain about ‘yes!’ as they pump their little arms in the air.

And on that note, I’ll leave you to enjoy your day. If any of this works for you – let me know. And if not – what tricks do you have in your toolbox to make you feel fab?

21 thoughts on “Speedier Brain

Leave a Reply

