Deepening the Thought Process

I need to write something more substantial before I fall out with words altogether. They are not as flimsy as I am making them out to be at the moment. They are powerful beyond my measure.

So, I’ve been trying to figure out how to have deeper thoughts. Here are a few things I came up with:

  • Don’t read any books or magazines that contain wise words, and don’t have any conversations with intelligent people. These will not deepen your power to think; they will only make your mind lazy.
  • Examine things fromΒ a different perspective. Look at the face of a familiar coin under a microscope. Avoid staring a wolf in the eye; look up his backside instead. Forget the trees; consider what is happening six inches below the jungle floor.
  • Merge data from disparate disciplines. Mix thoughts on the psychology of prawns with the latest findings on literary theory. Examine quantum theory in the light of Van Gogh’s paintings. Make salad in the bath.
  • Get overtired so that strange thoughts emerge. The border between sleep and wakefulness is similar to that of the unconscious and the conscious mind. Dive into this zone and see what wonders you can bring back.
  • Meditate. I throw this one in because it’s supposed to be beneficial in all sorts of ways. But, to be honest, all it does for me is shut off thoughts. Apart from the times when it doesn’t, in which case – it’s not really meditation. Still …
  • Keep asking the same question until a different answer comes. I know that Einstein is meant to have said that ‘the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results’ but what’s wrong with a dose of madness?

I hope this manages to kick-start my thinking processes because I’m scraping the bottom of my intellectual barrel here. Any suggestions from the audience? Yep – that means you.

18 thoughts on “Deepening the Thought Process

      • Today, the weather is glorious…so sunny, hot but not too hot….and I am feeling on cloud 9. I’m looking forward to reading and contributing soon (probably this weekend) and I will read some more of your posts…they are always awesome. I hope you are enjoying a really good day, my friend πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m having a lovely day, Truly. I have just had a lovely dinner and am just replying to a few (dozen) comments before I start on the washing up. Life is good for me and the little band of sparrows that just hopped past the patio door. πŸ™‚ Good to hear you’re good.

        Liked by 1 person

    • I already do. πŸ˜‰

      *Lt’s see what she thinks of that!*
      *OMG – what if she takes it the wrong way and thinks I mean her!*
      *Nah – she’s way more intelligent than that*
      *You think?*
      *Well – I hope!*
      *Hmm – good luck with that!*

      Okay – I’ll try talking to airheads, S – do you happen to know any?

      *How was that?*
      *Oh, I think you nailed it Robert. For sure.*

      Liked by 1 person

    • It’s odd that this one comment was the one that brought such interesting replies (such as your own). I only meant that intelligent conversation partners are good for some things (such as imparting deep and wise information), but that because the information comes ready formed, it does not encourage a person to develop their own processes of becoming insightful. Hope I didn’t offend you too much. πŸ™‚
      And hey – congrats on getting into Lancaster! πŸ™‚ Was it an easy process?
      Kindness – Robert.

      Like

Leave a Reply

