Natural Thoughts

leaves

Sitting in the dining-room musing on the nature of nature I considered which of the things around me were natural and I could only find one: my body.

There were many un-natural things: cup, phone, table, tablecloth, pen, notebook, clothing, floor, pillar, house – all manufactured or processed in one way or another.

So I asked myself ‘how do I connect with nature?’ In answer, I went outside.

I crumbled some earth and breathed some air. I soaked up what milky sunshine I could with the bread of my body and I caressed a tree and a leaf. I dabbled my fingers in the dew on the grass. And lo – it was good.

All these things had come into being, entirely untroubled by the designs of man.

Then I wondered what I could do to help these natural things to thrive.

Leave a Reply

