Appreciation

I used to want people to love me for who I am. I used to want them to take the good parts of me along with the bad bits of me, mash them together, and love all of me. I used to want to feel that I am fine the way I am and that I do not need to change myself. And I certainly didn’t want anyone else to try to convert me to their version of ideal.

I’ve just had a change of heart.

I’ve realised that I need to work on a few things before I’m in a position to make such an extravagant demand:

  • I need to love myself for who I am – grime, gristle and groan.
  • I need to appreciate and love other people for who they are – however they are (and yeah, that means you).
  • I need to understand that people are under absolutely no obligation to like me, much less love me!

So there you go – you don’t need to love me now. I am free from the expectation that you will like me, or any part of me. And – I love you guys!

Fly free and enjoy your life, for I accept you as you are.

33 thoughts on “Appreciation

Leave a Reply

