Naivety Nativity

That feeling you get when you listen to songs from back in the day, like On The Good Ship Lollipop (Shirley Temple) or How Much Is That Doggie In The Window (Patti Page) and consider how ridiculously simple and childish they were.

Then you think of the songs that Shirley and Patti listened to from back in their day, which must have seemed equally as simplistic and childlike to them.

Then you continue to go back on time to cavemen thinking about the babyish songs from back in their day that were nothing more than someone banging two rocks together without so much as a box of pebbles to accompany them.

Doesn’t it just give you a wonderful sense of superiority as you sit and listen to the sophisticated sounds of Justin Beiber and/or Selena Gomez?

But then again, don’t you just feel so humbled when you think of the wonders to come in the musical world from artists as yet unborn. Who knows what kinds of instruments and vocal techniques they will employ to bring us their wonderfully mature and developed pieces!

And in an alternate dimension – Mozart anyone?

23 thoughts on “Naivety Nativity

  1. I’m not ashamed to admit that I love (yes, love) Justin Bieber and others of his ilk. For my age, I guess I should be happy to be listening to music of the 70’s or 80’s, but I just can’t be stuck in an era that is synomymous with groups like The Bay City Rollers and/or sequinned boob tubes (ps. I had the albums, the tartan scarf and the tubes itched like mad). Personally I prefer Eric Satie – Gnossienne #1 & 3

    Liked by 1 person

    • I suspect that it might be my mid-life kicking in, but I’ve started to listed to BBC Radio One again, and yes – JB and Selena are amongst my faves. I love the work of Drake, Rae Sremmurd, Beyoncé and more. These are not likes that have come naturally to me – I had to do a lot of listening to get into them. Worth it though.
      Never worn a boob-tube so couldn’t possibly comment – again, all my experiences are on the other side of said articles.
      And Erik Satie – yes! I love Gymnopédie No.1 more than all the others. 🙂 If you play it you will be strongly reminded of another song/band. Name them both for a bonus point. 🙂

      Like

      • I’ve never stopped listening to Radio 1 because I just love all music. I’m off to a Festival/Gig thing on Friday and I don’t care that I’m 52. So excited.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Trnsmt in Glasgow. Just one day unfortunately, but Radiohead headlining and London Grammar…can’t wait to see them again! Other folk playing too, so should be a good day…Plus I’ll be there with my girls. Bonus.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Radiohead and London Grammar – great bands. I love me a bit of trip-hop, like what London Grammar used to do, but their new stuff is excellent too. Sounds like you’re up for a good gig there! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

