My Evening S20170708

I’ve got sunstroke.

It was rather hot today and I sat in the sun for too long and it has stroked me. Symptoms? Lethargy and a headache. Sunstroke.

Drink water, I’m told. So I drink another glass of water, and another, and another. But,Β the headache is still with me. Sunstroke.

I can’t see my evening as getting much better so I might as well tell you about it now.

It’s light outside. The sun is still high in the sky. There will actually be light in the sky – lingering on the horizon – until about midnight. So it doesn’t even feel like evening yet. But still – here in England, it’s eleven minutes past nine as I type this.

And it’s rather warm too, which doesn’t help the sunstroke.

Dinner was wonderful. Imagine three strips across the plate:

  1. Bolgnese sauce: vegetables (carrots, courgettes, sweetcorn, peas) in a delicately, yet robustly flavoured tomato sauce
  2. Potatoes: cooked to perfection, sliced, buttered, seasoned and then lightly coated with mayonnaise
  3. Salad: a bed of lettuce layered with beetroot, avocado, tomato and olives, with a combination of olive oil, balsamic vinegar and herbs to top it off.

Like I say – wonderful. I’m not feeling like eating pudding right now, but if I was, there are bunnies just waiting to be had. Or if I want an even healthier option – grapes, cherries, oranges, strawberries and a host of other fruits await my appetite.

To be honest, though – none of this really excites me so much as the thought of chewing a painkiller and lying down with a bag of frozen peas on my forehead. It just goes to show that you can have all the good things in the world, but it ain’t guaranteed to give you happiness.

And now I’m going to have to stop typing. The sound of the keyboard is making my head hurt even more.

Good night and sweet dreams go one and all.

Laters.

49 thoughts on “My Evening S20170708

  1. Ouch! I got a headache too, but it’s nothing compared to your ordeal. Your dinner sounds incredible – you must be a gourmet cook. 😊
    We have a heck of a lot of daylight here as well. Usually, when I go to bed on weeknights, the sun has barely started to set.
    Feel better soon, Robert. Enjoy your day off tomorrow! (Still taking a day off, right?)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

