I Create My Own Experience

I’ve been sent surveys asking for my experience with organisations. Strikes me that the way I feel depends more on me than them. If I engage with institutions in an interested and interesting way, then my experience is generally positive. If I don’t, then it often isn’t.

I sometimes forget that I’m talking to people. I forget that they have their own individual lives, loves and feelings outside of their role as a company peon.

Therefore, I’ve decided to be more engaging and engaged in my interactions with the people working for corporate bodies.

Here’s my plan:

  • Take every opportunity to speak up
  • Make friends with people I talk to
  • Remember that peeps really matter
  • Learn as much as possible from folk
  • Realise that I’m not always right
  • Listen to the advice that I receive.

Right, I’m going to fill in a couple of surveys now.

7 thoughts on “I Create My Own Experience

  1. Humility – a brand new concept for Robert! 😉
    I do try to keep in mind that company peons have their own lives and loves. One time in the UK, someone called and asked me to do a survey, but I couldn’t understand his questions due to his thick accent (northern Irish?). After asking him to repeat himself many times and still not understanding him, I said, “sorry, I can’t understand you,” and hung up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

