Fix Ya Face

I just realised that I’m locking myself into moods by holding my facial muscles in a certain way. Even worserer – I discovered this whilst I was (supposed to be) meditating. Someone had said something and I had reacted by being annoyed and so I was holding my face in a way that showed this emotion to full effect.

As soon as I noticed this, I relaxed my face. That is to say – I put a smile on it. I felt better almost immediately.

A while back I read a book – Emotions Revealed: Understanding Faces and Feelings
by Paul Ekman. In this eruditeΒ tome, the author revealed that his research had shown that it is impossible to be unhappy with a genuine smile on your face and, similarly, that it’s not possible to be happy when the muscles of your face are locked into an angry expression.

If the above sounds unlikely to you then just give it a try. The next time you are angry – tell yourself a joke, burst out laughing and watch that anger melt away. Sure, I guess that there are confidence tricksters and salespeople who can circumvent this – but that kind of thing takes a lot of practice to get right.

So there you go – if you want to feel good – just fix your face.

Big smiles everyone! πŸ˜€

 


The inspiration for the title of this piece comes from the following lyric courtesy ofΒ 24K Magic by Bruno Mars:

I’m a dangerous man with some money in my pocket (keep up)
So many pretty girls around me and they waking up the rocket (keep up)
Why you mad fix ya face ain’t my fault y’all be jocking (keep up).

And here’s the song (sing along now!):

 

13 thoughts on “Fix Ya Face

  1. Excellent reminder! I learned about this phenomenon some time ago. My dad has the habit of frowning when I say I need to talk to him about something (actually, it’s been years since I said that to him). One time, I called him out on this habit, and he stopped frowning immediately. It definitely lightened the mood.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

