My Evening S20170715

Share your story here, says the prompt. I cannot tell you mine. I am tied up in forbiddens. There is nothing I can say.

So I’ll tell you that I ate pizza and chips. I’ll say that I watched half a movie called … Ah, who cares what it was called. It was that 2004 one about the tsunami with that Scottish bloke and someone that might have been called Naomi who looks like that woman who used to be married to Tom Cruise. Yeah, yeah – I know I could have looked it up, but then – so can you.

What else can I tell you. That I had to go into the garage to finish off the book I was reading because only there could I find enough enough peace to be able to concentrate on it? That the opposite of love is not hate, but apathy? That emptiness, the exalted goal of meditators everywhere can be found within everyday life?

But what would these things mean to you?

I remember when I used to wish for more hours in a day so that I could cram everything in. Now, I’m looking for something to put into a day so that I can fill a small part of it with meaning.

And what made the difference? Oh, I can give you theories, but at the end of the day – it’ll just be talk. Because at the end of this day I’m just one more bloke sat in one more bed tapping his thumbs against one more smartphone. How dumb is that!

12 thoughts on “My Evening S20170715

  1. I agree that the opposite of love is not hate, but apathy.
    Emptiness – a familiar feeling. I think I know what you mean about meditators striving for emptiness, but feeling empty is completely different from having a mind devoid of thoughts. But you know all of that already. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “That the opposite of love is not hate, but apathy? That emptiness, the exalted goal of meditators everywhere can be found within everyday life?”

    This resonated with me in such a sad but honest way. It’s relieving to express things in words, even if nothing else changes, you know? Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

