Cometh the Dawn

And in the night, when all is calm, and ships are safe at harbour, I am arrived to sing of ruined mansions and burning lives. Ah – thy form in the moonlight. The marvellous sight of such beauty. Even as tears wet my lids and spill with dreadful haste.

For I know that I have seen thee in love and seen thee in hate. And I have felt thine arms around my shaking body and known that I am home. I have poured scorn on the world for one kind word from thee.

And yet, all is in vain, for thou art gone. And I sing only to thy memory. To the image I have of thee in mine other life. My failed life of woe.

But hark – cometh the dawn. Make haste and carry me away to my bed.

20 thoughts on “Cometh the Dawn

Leave a Reply

