New Pen Please

New Pen Please

60 thoughts on “New Pen Please

      • You think so? I just muse, mainly. Not sure what’s so interesting about that. I mean, I haven’t written a story for ages! In fact, I haven’t even written much lately. Mostly posted squiggles and squirls.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I think so. The workings of your mind are interesting to me. You wrote a bit of a story about a princess yesterday. Yes, that counts. Is it bothering you that you haven’t written much lately? I’m sure it’s just a phase (yes, you can slap me for being presumptuous.)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, just a phase. I used to write once a day – that was just a phase. Then I was writing four times a day – that was just a phase. Now I’m averaging two a day – this is just a phase too. Do you learn anything useful from the workings of my mind?
        (no – it’s not bothering me that I’m writing less)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Our lives consist of countless phases, with some of us going through more phases than others. Isn’t it amazing that throughout all these phases, we still have an unshakable sense of self at our core? I’ve often thought about how weird it is that we go through our entire lives with a single identity (not counting spies and those in a witness protection programme) – same name, family background, past, etc. Okay, I won’t write an essay in your comment section. 😉
        From the workings of your mind, I’ve learned that regardless of how well I think I know someone, that person’s inner world will always be a mystery to me.

        Liked by 1 person

      • First paragraph: I read yesterday that consciousness can only proceed from consciousness. From this it makes sense to me that our awareness of ourselves as selves is stable. What doesn’t make sense is why we don’t have a sense of the self we were before we were born.
        Second paragraph: my mind is like Mr Lewis’s wardrobe.
        There’s a link between those two paragraphs. But don’t ask me to explain. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Even if consciousness can only proceed from consciousness, that doesn’t prevent it from splitting into parts, right? Do we each have a discrete self that is retained for eternity?
        Who’s Mr. Lewis? Serious question.
        I read your comment to someone else about your mind being like a walk-in closet, with clothes you hardly wear but can’t bear to part with. Cool analogy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • C.S. Lewis – Lion, Witch and Wardrobe.
        I remember that comment. It was the same (kind of) thing I was saying to you. 🙂
        Split consciousness. Interesting idea. Most of me says no, but the part that doesn’t is intrigued. (Do you see what I did there?) I feel unified, but that’s not to say that other parts of me don’t feel the same without having informed me of their separate decision. I’m awfully afraid that this is it for us. That falling adeath is just like falling asleep – nothing and nothing with some scatterdy dreams.
        Do you always find my used of English easy to follow?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yes, C.S. Lewis, of course! My sister was in a school play of Lion, Witch and Wardrobe.
        Yes, I (almost) always catch the irony of your statements. 😊 The unified sense of self is one of the most fascinating phenomena in the universe. I understand intellectually why you’re afraid of losing your ‘self’ at death, but strangely, I don’t have this fear. Perhaps it’s because I’m not that attached to my ‘self’?
        Most of the time, I find your use of English easy to follow, but I do get confused from time to time.

        Liked by 1 person

      • What was she? A lion, a witch or perhaps a wardrobe? 🙂
        I’m almost always never ironic – unless I am – in which case it’s in a manner reserved for English people. By that I mean that there are several (millions of) in-jokes that hardly anyone outside of England gets. It’s a feature of the language and mentality that I imagine is quite frustrating to … others. You live here so you must have picked up on quite a few of them?
        What kind of massive statement is that? “The unified sense of self is one of the most fascinating phenomena in the universe.” Says who?! Prove it! My mind boggles with the effrontery! (Partly kidding, but only in terms of my mole-to-mountain reaction. I still stand by it being a personal affront on logic! And yeah, I know – how can I possibly know that Lady Logic has taken this personally!)
        It’s not possible not to be terrified of something we don’t know. It’s only possible to intellectually accept it. (Ooo, that’s strong – right?)
        I was actually going easy on you in terms of the English I use. The above is more like how I would normally speak to … (can’t say – self edited).

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m embarrassed to say that I don’t remember which character she played. Probably the wardrobe. 😉
        I didn’t find English humour hard to understand when I was there. Perhaps the people around me were just going easy on me. 😉 Okay, I should’ve said that the unified sense of self fascinates ME to no end. Better?
        Of course it’s possible to be scared of something we don’t know. Isn’t the fear of the unknown the strongest type of fear?
        Thanks for going easy on me. I’m a poor little foreigner unacquainted with the peculiarities of regional English dialects, you know. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • You were going good until that last part- you had me smiling and nodding (not quite bouncing off the walls with excitement), but with the last paragraph I just had to say ‘gah’ and stop reading. Lucky it was the end, right? 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

