All Them Bones

Walking through a churchyard and I came across a stone telling me that Thomas Somrbody-or-other was buried near there (apparently he had something to do with HMS Victory) and I thought that’s nice of them.

When we (yeah, the royal we) get cloning up to sctatch, we’ll have plenty of genetic material to play with. So if, for instance, we need a goood boat designer, we can make a copy of Thomas and pick his brains.
Similarly, it’d be nice to chat to a newly cloned Buddha. I’m sure he’d have some interesting things to say. Because, of course, his mind would be cloned along with his body, right?

So, assuming this gets off (or out of) the ground, who, from the annals of history, would you like to sit down and have a chat with?

20 thoughts on “All Them Bones

  1. Hold on a second … wouldn’t it be unethical to clone dead people? We can’t exactly get their consent first, and cloning them would certainly disturb their ‘peace’. Don’t dead people have rights?
    Ethical considerations aside, I’d like to pick the brains of Alan Watts, Confucius, Gandhi, Florence Nightingale, Albert Einstein, Galileo, Marie Curie, Max Planck, Nicola Tesla, Hitler, Stalin, Mao Tse Tung, and many, many more. How about you, Robert?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. We are more than our genes. Does a clone have a spirit? I have often wondered this, and I figure somebody out there already cloned someone and is figuring out that very thing. If you raised these people in different atmospheres, they wouldn’t be the what we expected. And of course we can’t duplicate the atmosphere… my brain hurts! šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mind and Brain – different thing? Some would disagree and some would agree. I’m going to leave the argument (and headache) to those what are smarter than I is and just get on with writing things that are as interesting as I can make them with the gifts I’ve been given.
      Saves my brain from hurting. šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.