Privileged

I take it, from reading the first third of The Descent of Man by Grayson Perry, that by being white, male, middle-aged, heterosexual and moderately wealthy I have certain privileges.

It seems also that I am largely unaware of my privilege because people like me have built the important systems of civilisation and therefore view themselves as normal.

The route to being a feminist, according to what I have read, is for me to ‘pick up a mop’. It doesn’t suggest what I should do with this mop, but I can think of several creative suggestions, not the least of which is to use as a wig to emulate the author’s hairstyle:

Grayson Perry demonstrating what to do with a mop.

Joking aside, I’m concerned about these privileges and an now.wondering what I can do to ameliorate their effect on myself and the world. Suggestions, please, on a postcard.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.