On Slaking our Thirst in the Sun

How does writing about writing cease to become writing?
How can introspection step back so far that you lose sight of yourself?
How do I stop myself from being the man who talks to himself oblivious of those watching him or the woman who’s got to the bottom of the news article and yet carries on reading into the adverts without noticing the difference?

And what about madness?
Who decides who is mad and who is sane?
Because, aren’t we all mad to one ounce or another?

What if I don’t list the normal examples of abnormality?
What do we lose anyway if we call ourselves mad instead of shinily sane?
What’s the difference between walking down the street talking to myself and chatting away to someone with a Bluetooth headset plugged into my earhole or shouting to the pigeons to stop cooing away in the morning when I’m trying to get a lay-in?

And what about madness?
Who decides who is mad and who is sane?
Because, aren’t we all mad to one ounce or another?

Why am I sitting here in the library feeling thirsty?
Why do I make funny clicking noises with my tongue when I’m thinking?
Why am I typing this at all when I know that really there’s only really me listening to myself to the extent that I know that my words have meaning as opposed to being randoms cut out of a colour magazine and stuck on the PC screen?

And what about madness?
Who decides who is mad and who is sane?
Because, aren’t we all mad to one ounce or another?

When will I realise who I am?
When will the raison drop into cookie dough to be cooked?
When do we all find out what we’re really here for instead of having to guess over and over in ever more ridiculous and convoluted ways that expose us to such shame and embarrassment that we forgo company and become a poet instead?

And what about madness?
Who decides who is mad and who is sane?
Because, aren’t we all mad to one ounce or another?

Where the brush for my hair?
Where’s the kind hand to brush the tangles from my life?
Where’s the sweet voice to tell me that everything’s alright and sing me to sleep on those nights when the shadows on the wall no longer look like those of the wardrobe or the chest of drawers or the stack of books or the teddy bear?

And what about madness?
Who decides who is mad and who is sane?
Because, aren’t we all mad to one ounce or another?

Who looks at me in the mirror?
Who can choose to frown or smile back?
Who can jump up from this keyboard when the typing is done, go outside, get a cool bottle of water from the shop and then just chill, chill, chill whilst slaking away the thirst and feeling the sun shining like a blessing on all our lives?

And what about madness anyway?
Why not decide yourself who is mad and who is sane?
Because, we might all be mad to one ounce or another but what the heck does it matter!

11 thoughts on “On Slaking our Thirst in the Sun

  1. How does writing about writing cease to become writing?
    (Writing is boundless, I don’t think there is a cease point.)
    How can introspection step back so far that you lose sight of yourself?
    (I think the answer comes from outside, introspection is inward looking at the wrong place for answering those burning questions, perhaps. Or just a different way to look at it.)
    How do I stop myself from being the man who talks to himself oblivious of those watching him or the woman who’s got to the bottom of the news article and yet carries on reading into the adverts without noticing the difference?
    ( Do you think it’s necessary to stop? If there is no burning desire to stop, then why not keep going? It doesn’t seem that you are hurting anyone.)
    And what about madness?
    (Fear tells us that unknown territory is mad.)
    Who decides who is mad and who is sane?
    (People have a lot unanswered questions but want to be the subject experts.)
    Because, aren’t we all mad to one ounce or another?
    (I have to agree with you on that one.)

    Like

    • How does writing about writing cease to be writing? When I wrote this I was thinking about the difference between ‘prose’ and ‘commentary on that prose’. The prose might be a blog post, story or a novel, and the commentary could be an author’s explanation of why he wrote that novel. I would say that the novel is ‘writing’ and the explanation is not, but how does that work? How is meta-writing not writing? I guess for me it happens because I have a narrow definition of what (proper) writing is.
      “The king was sad and so he sacrificed his beloved son to god in the hope that his would grant him happiness.” is writing.
      “I think that the king who was stupid enough to kill the thing that gave him happiness in an attempt to get more happiness is like a dog dropping the bone it had in it’s mouth and jumping in the river to fight with the dog he saw there carrying a bigger and juicier bone.” is a comment that is not really writing.
      “I think that thinking other people are stupid is not a sensible way to go through life.” is a comment on a comment and is even less like writing.
      All I’m doing here is commenting.
      Your comments are at least interesting because they give me an insight into your mind. My own comments don’t add anything to me. And I’m not sure what they add to you.
      Anyway, the overall point I was trying to make is that overthinking (and over-commenting) can drive a person towards madness.

      Like

      • That’s a substantial background info on your post. And I get it now.
        I agree with you about what is writing and what is comment (although some comments can be prose or poem like.)
        It’s good to have a conversation, even just via the comments. It gives opportunities for clarification and affirmation.
        Thank you for taking the time to explain. I appreciate it.

        Liked by 1 person

        • My ‘explanation’ was only partial. To explain all the things going through my mind as I wrote that piece (the man in the library who was trying on wigs, making videos of himself talking demonically and talking and laughing to himself, and the woman sat next to me who was reading the advertisements on another computer screen for example) would take a long (long (long)) time and would probably bore you to tears. πŸ˜ƒ

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.