Happiness Without Cause

I feel happy but I can’t identify what’s making me happy. Isn’t that weird?

On an entirely different note: I went to sleep without closing my eyes last night and still fell asleep just as quickly. There’s not much light in my bedroom with the curtains closed at night so lying with my eyes open wasn’t much different to lying with my eyes closed.

I’ve always fancied having lucid dreams so tried, in the past, to remain conscious when going to sleep but because I just gave lucid dreams up I didn’t bother last night.

And, like I said, I feel unaccountably happy this morning.

I’m not saying it’s causal. There are other factors.

For instance, I’ve given up milk chocolate in favour of dark chocolate. That makes a difference. Dark chocolate zings me and the zing lasts. Milk chocolate just gave me a vague feeling of soporific peace that quickly turned to sleepiness and malaise.

Work is going well too. And yeah, I know it’s the weekend and we’re not supposed to give workspace in our minds right now, but I’ve figured out how to solve a particular challenge in the app I’m building at work and I can’t wait (but I can wait) for Monday to come around so that I can put it into effect.

And there’s something else exciting coming up that I can’t tell you about. Maybe I’ll tell you afterwards. But, yeah, that could be contributing to my happiness.

Right, let me get on.

Oh, wait. There’s nothing to get on to. Maybe that’s it.

Or not.

Anyway, Grammarly protested that I should share the sensory experience of moving from Milk to Dark chocolate so that you can connect better with what I’m saying. Obviously, Grammarly has never eaten either kind of chocolate and so has no idea. But you do. And I do. Perhaps we should keep our sensory experiences to ourselves so that these leech-like AI bots can’t suck us dry and spit out our blood in the form of endlessly chirpy bot-generated texts.

But I digress.

And I digress more because I’ve just remembered that Grammarly also wants me to stop jumping from one subject like a deranged grasshopper (my paraphrase).

And it wants me to tell you about the exciting thing that I’ve got coming up. But I won’t. Not yet. Not because you don’t deserve it but so that Grammarly doesn’t get its hands on the information and use it for its own dire ends. I mean, you’ve seen Terminator, right?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.