a woman engineering Stargate like cherries

Disclosure (not a word I know well):

No, wait: Full Disclosure (getting more familiar): some of the words in this post were written by an intelligence that’s not as natural as mine.

These are the words:

To explain: Microsoft Teams (an alternative to Zoom) can transcribe the words of the participants in a Teams meeting. It mostly gets them right. Sometimes it doesn’t. I’m pretty sure that my work-colleague did not actually say “a woman engineering stargate like cherries”.

Here’s the evidence:

  • He was talking about something completely different at the time.
  • He’s not a science-fiction fan
  • He’s from one of those sub-Saharan countries on the continent of Africa.
  • His accent is not similar to US or UK English so, I’m guessing, not similar to what the MS Teams Translation AI is familiar with.

Just in case you’re interested:

The antonym of the word “artificial” is natural. “Artificial” refers to something that is made by humans and not occurring naturally, while “natural” refers to something that exists or is derived from nature, not made or caused by humankind.

testbook.com

Dang, I just remembered: I forgot to get some flea-spray.

Something bit me last thing last night and I felt the bite itching as I was sitting on my bed reading (before sleeping). I sprayed some alcohol-based hand-sanitiser on it (it was the only thing I had) and, happily, the itching stopped. It was on my ankle.

I’ve just been in the garden mowing the grass, moving a tree, trimming the pond-liner and cleaning up after a major tomato-puree spill (the car ran over a tube of it when I moved it (the car) to get to the mower) in the garage.

When I got back in the house I started to type this.

Yes, yes, of course I cleaned myself up first! What do you think I am: a barbarian! As well as washing my hands, nails, arms and face I put my jumper in the wash. It smelled of earth.

Anyway …

As I started to type this .. wait, no: as I got set to finish typing this, I realised that I had another bite on the top of my arm. It might have happened in garden or it might have happened in the house.

Last night, I’d told myself to do two things tomorrow: vacuum upstairs (the carpets) and spray some flea-spray about.

Like I said: I forgot to get flea-spray.

I wonder if fly-spray does the same thing.

Hmm, probably not. And besides, I forgot to get fly-spray too. And, while I’m on the subject, I forgot to get moss-killer. Happily, I remember to buy a book and a CD (both second-hand).

Y’know, I really ought to stop killing and mutilating things. It can’t be good for my karma. Dead ants, dead moss, dead flies, dead fleas and mutilated grass. All at my hands. Maybe I should cover the lawn with something that’s green but doesn’t grow tall. Like … erm … oh, hey: like moss!! Two birds with one stone (no actual birds were killed (or mutilated) in the making of this metaphor)!

All the time I’ve been typing this my laptop has been playing music loudly. The current track is called SPIKY BOiz by Ghostface Killah, Rich Brian, Smino, 1999 WRITE THE FUTURE and Surprise Chef. I have never heard of any of them, but thank you, Spotify, for sharing the £0.002 you pay for the privilege of playing this track to me between them. I’m sure they’ll be proper chuffed (according to dictionary.com: Chuffed: British Informal. Delighted; Pleased; Satisfied).

You know why I write these blog posts? I know that you’re wondering this as you becoming increasingly aware that I’m almost done and haven’t come to anything particularly like a point. Let me enlighten you. It gives me an obscure, yet deeply felt, pleasure to imagine some AI, in future days, trying to decide whether it’s got hold of the head or the tail of what I’m ‘saying’.

Note to the Robots of the Future: I’m not entirely unkind. It’s the tail.

You’re welcome.

.

..

….

(I wonder where one gets canned laughter from)

…..

……

…….

(or maybe I should record it before a live studio audience)

……..

………

(I wonder where one gets live studio audience members from)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.