A Message To You (Yes, You)

Don’t be afraid to talk to me. I’m friendly and I don’t hardly bite at all. And if I do bite, I promise not to leave a mark.

If I were confronted by me, I probably would be shy about talking to me too. I am quite a mouthful. But I am also rather tasty too and not so difficult to swallow once you get used to me.

I sometimes talk to strangers in the street. Just last week there was a guy sat in the park with his wife. He was wearing a t-shirt that said Windermere on in and so, because I’d just been there a couple of weeks before, I started chatting to him.

It was an interesting conversation about swimming and walking. He had just taken part in the Great North Swim, which involves swimming in Lake Windermere and so it was interesting to hear his story.

After a few minutes, though, I could see a kind of strain on his face. Something about me (or about him) was making him uncomfortable. Shortly afterwards, I made my excuses and walked on.

Actually then, when I think about it – maybe you shouldn’t chat to me. Perhaps I’m just too much of a strangeness for you to handle. Possibly I’m not really a functional part of the human race.

Okay then, stay away from me.

*adds #tags, types and title, posts these words and then goes and makes a nice cup of tea*

34 thoughts on “A Message To You (Yes, You)

  1. I talk to strangers all the time. Part of the fun is to see how they react. Since the art of talking face to face is quickly being replaced by communicating via technology it is an uncomfortable and suspicious Thing to most; this foreign face to face ” confrontation ” . I say bring on the strangeness it is always an adventure!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You send shivers up and down my spine when you say scary things like that, Karen! And then I think ‘but what if! but what if!’
      I’d love to be more open than I am; I really would. But what if …

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.